Add Folders in Datasets to group Fields

Introduction
You will most probably recognize this. You open a dataset, and you need to browse through hundreds of fields to find the field you actually need. Also some field names might be very close to each other.
When using naming conventions, you might get away with a better experience. But what if you could organize the dimensions and measures in folders?

Feature suggestion
As an Analyst, I want to be able to organize my fields in groups, for easier browsabiliy.

Example folders:

• Revenue metrics
  • Leadtime metrics
  • Operation metrics
  • etc etc

By having the ability to organize your fields in such a way, end users who can build dashboards will have a much better experience

I suggested the same directly - this would be real help in organising models

As a workaround to this, you could split it into multiple models, and join those models up again in the dataset with a relationship between them

When you have multiple models in a dataset, Holistics will group the measure/dimensions by the source model.

You could create…
model_revenue = select key, revenue from base_table
model_leadtime = select key, leadtime from base_table
model_operation = select key, operation from base_table

In model_leadtime & model_operation you could then set the attribute for field key as hidden = true to prevent the key(s) showing multiple times.

Then create the dataset with a relationship on key

When your users browse the dataset, the measures/dimensions will be grouped per the underlying model.

Ours looks something like this…

2 Likes

Hi David,

Thank you for your suggestion.
I think it would be a very rough workaround just for achieving those folders :slight_smile:

You would still have in the end cross-model metrics that touch multiple models.